fiduciary

Author Topic: Trouble setting profile pic  (Read 362 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lolwel21

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Bridging mechanical and organic
Trouble setting profile pic
« on: April 23, 2020, 07:37:07 PM »
I've been trying to set my profile picture to the image I'm using for other forums, but I can't figure out how to set it. When I select "Specify avatar by URL" paste in my picture URL (https://i.imgur.com/T7xAfPy.gif), and hit Change profile, it goes right back to "No avatar" without any sort of error message. I saw another post on the forum somewhere that suggests it should be 80x80 (it is), and the example url shows it as a gif (converted to gif). What am I not getting? The complete lack of documentation on these constraints within the Personalized Picture section makes this feel buggy and frustrating.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

the picture in question

Offline DARTH VADER

  • SMF tech support
  • Board Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 10364
    • Turtle Shell Productions
Re: Trouble setting profile pic
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2020, 08:14:32 PM »
Hi,

Are you trying on a computer or mobile device?

You may have found a bug... I'll work on it this weekend

Offline Lolwel21

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Bridging mechanical and organic
Re: Trouble setting profile pic
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2020, 11:49:55 AM »
Computer (Chrome browser).

Offline DARTH VADER

  • SMF tech support
  • Board Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 10364
    • Turtle Shell Productions
Re: Trouble setting profile pic
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2020, 07:29:36 AM »
hmmmmmmmm.....

ok, you seem to be correct.
Uploaded avatars work fine
choosing from the gallery works fine.
attempting to use an external URL for the image seems to break, even though it says "saved"

very odd....

this is going to take some work. :(


--edit--   welp, guess not that much work.  tried a few different settings and  it seems to be fixed now!
« Last Edit: April 28, 2020, 07:48:01 AM by DARTH VADER »