fiduciary

Author Topic: "No such directory or file" or "could not compile for Proffieboard V2 "  (Read 151 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline g.maldonado89

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Um...Hello?
So I finally got done wiring my Proffie V2 into my 2005 Ep V Vader. I gutted it and rebuilt it and its got a Tri Cree R R W, a WOW spkr, 2 tactile switches and a recharge port. I downloaded everything per Fredriks page and when I attempt to Upload the copied and re-written file, it tells me that there is no such file. Fredrik also states to try ver 1.8.3 if you run into trouble, so I tried that, and instead Adurino tells me that it could not compile the file. Any help? Im using Mac OSX. I would like to finish my build finally and figure out if itll shine or blow up in my hand.

Offline profezzorn

  • Mining Colony Members
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 890
  • May the source be with you.
    • Hubbe's Corner
Re: "No such directory or file" or "could not compile for Proffieboard V2 "
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2020, 01:15:54 AM »
So I finally got done wiring my Proffie V2 into my 2005 Ep V Vader. I gutted it and rebuilt it and its got a Tri Cree R R W, a WOW spkr, 2 tactile switches and a recharge port. I downloaded everything per Fredriks page and when I attempt to Upload the copied and re-written file, it tells me that there is no such file. Fredrik also states to try ver 1.8.3 if you run into trouble, so I tried that, and instead Adurino tells me that it could not compile the file. Any help? Im using Mac OSX. I would like to finish my build finally and figure out if itll shine or blow up in my hand.

1.8.3 is quite old now, probably better to use a more recent version.
I need to see the config file and the complete error to be able to help.

Offline g.maldonado89

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Um...Hello?
Re: "No such directory or file" or "could not compile for Proffieboard V2 "
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2020, 12:57:07 PM »




So, this is using 1.8.11. As you can see from the three images, I copy one of the config files within the Proffie Master folder, rename it (VaderR1), open the renamed copy in text edit, delete lines, go to Frederiks site, use configurator with parameters pertinent to the saber (tri Cree star RRW, two switches etc), paste in the copied file, save edited copy file with lines from configurator, go to Arduino, open the Proffie OS, go to line 24, re direct to the name specified "VaderR1_config.h", attempt to Upload, and I get the shown message. Im wondering if I'm missing something in the programming procedure or if it has to do with the Adurino software/Proffie OS itself. Worth noting, this is my first build, let alone using a Proffie. Any help would be greatly appreciated!


Offline SilantStrike

  • Padawan Learner
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Um...Hello?
Re: "No such directory or file" or "could not compile for Proffieboard V2 "
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2020, 06:43:45 AM »
where is your config folder relative to the ProffieOS folder?

What is the entire path to the config folder?  For example, on windows it would look like this...
D:\My Documents\ProffieOS\config

On Mac, what is your full path?

Offline g.maldonado89

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Um...Hello?
Re: "No such directory or file" or "could not compile for Proffieboard V2 "
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2020, 04:28:17 PM »



Hello sir;

It is inside a folder called "ProffieOS-master" for some reason. The allocation of the files seems janky, not gonna lie.

Offline SilantStrike

  • Padawan Learner
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Um...Hello?
Re: "No such directory or file" or "could not compile for Proffieboard V2 "
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2020, 05:24:32 AM »
Use this link to download the latest released version of ProffieOS, I believe you downloaded directly from the master branch which you should not use
https://fredrik.hubbe.net/lightsaber/ProffieOS-v3.9.zip

Your folder must be named ProffieOS, and inside it must be all the other folders/files from your screen shot

Offline g.maldonado89

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Um...Hello?
Re: "No such directory or file" or "could not compile for Proffieboard V2 "
« Reply #6 on: February 16, 2020, 01:17:29 PM »
So we are getting closer! haha

At the very least, now it attempts to upload the sketch. I suspect one of two (or both) issues were going on.

As suggested, I re-downloaded from the link you provided, with files consolidated within it. Ran through the motions and NOTICED, that I had omitted a space between "config" and "copy" in the file name, thereby rendering it unrecognizable to the software for location purposes. But now, i attempt to upload the script and after the countdown it yields a FAIL message, although it states upload is complete. I have attached a picture. Thank you for all the pointers by the way! I was beginning to think there was nothing i could do with the over $200 I spent on parts for this.

Offline g.maldonado89

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Um...Hello?
Re: "No such directory or file" or "could not compile for Proffieboard V2 "
« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2020, 11:26:40 PM »
Welp, whatever the case is, thia build will have to be put on hold. After my last reply, I installed the 18650 battery and the chassis started smoking. It began melting Khal's eco battery holder on the bottom. I reacted quickly and removed the battery. I suspected the Proffie would have fried, but as it turns out, it still does the boot up sound when i connect it to the USB port.

Either i did something wrong on the wiring, or admittedly, that battery (Imren battery? The yellow one with a lion or something) is crap. I suspect its chinese built, and its not a protected battery (lesson learned). Im looking to purchase an 18650, 15A from TCS, protected. Ill have to re wire, as that battery already has +/- wires and I was using the ones on the battery holder. Im considering re wiring everything from scratch, and with 28AWG this time instead of 26. I will have to worry about the software later when i know my build wont blow up or melt my hand.