fiduciary

Author Topic: Images Won't Post  (Read 2843 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Wilson McDermot

  • Experienced Force User
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
    • This And That
Images Won't Post
« on: December 08, 2017, 12:54:41 PM »
When I try to post an image from ImageShack, it doesn't work. Here's an example:

Code: [Select]
[img]http://imageshack.com/a/img924/6128/b1D3fr.jpg[/img]
« Last Edit: December 08, 2017, 12:59:30 PM by DARTH VADER »

Offline DARTH VADER

  • SMF tech support
  • Board Moderator
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 10401
    • Turtle Shell Productions
Re: Images Won't Post
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2017, 01:00:43 PM »
When I try to post an image from ImageShack, it doesn't work. Here's an example:

Code: [Select]
[img]http://imageshack.com/a/img924/6128/b1D3fr.jpg[/img]

http images will sometimes have issues displaying, since most of the web is now https (secure http)

try this
Code: [Select]
[img]https://imageshack.com/a/img924/6128/b1D3fr.jpg[/img]


Offline Wilson McDermot

  • Experienced Force User
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
    • This And That
Re: Images Won't Post
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2017, 01:07:29 PM »
Okay! I'll give it a try. Here we go:

This is the way I used to do it calling the image from my website using http:



It didn't work.

Next I'll try using https:



That didn't work either.


And here is the image's URL from my website. I used this address for year with no problems:

http://www.waynesthisandthat.com/images/lssnledbefore.jpg

Let me try using the same image uploaded into ImageShack and the https format.



That works fine. I think the problem is the forum software is happier with https while my website doesn't like it. ImageShack allows the https code. So what it looks like I need to do is load all my images into ImageShack, repost them to the forum using the Insert Image icon, then edit the link from http to https. It's a hassle but at least it works.

Thank you!


« Last Edit: December 08, 2017, 01:22:06 PM by Wilson McDermot »

Offline Wilson McDermot

  • Experienced Force User
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
    • This And That
Re: Images Won't Post
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2017, 01:43:07 PM »
Wait a minute... This won't work either, at least in the long run. I only have a free Image Shack file for 30 days. After that I have to pay them $40 a year to use the service. PhotoBucket is even worse, asking $400.00 a year.

Why is the Forum forcing people to subscribe to fee-based image services? It didn't used to. Up until 2016 I could post all the images I wanted from my website for free. What changed?

Is there a way I can post images without using either Photobucket or Image Shack?

Offline Wilson McDermot

  • Experienced Force User
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
    • This And That
Re: Images Won't Post
« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2017, 02:07:59 PM »
I'm still confused why I can use the 'insert hyperlink' icon to add a link to the http URL for the image like this:

http://www.waynesthisandthat.com/images/lssnledbefore.jpg

And it works. But if I try the same thing with the 'insert image' icon like this:



It doesn't work.

Why does the 'insert hyperlink' accept http while the 'insert image' doesn't.

Offline Wilson McDermot

  • Experienced Force User
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
    • This And That
Re: Images Won't Post
« Reply #5 on: December 08, 2017, 02:12:36 PM »
By the way, I apologize for all my questions but I'm getting ready to start a thread about a new type of component string blade with a completely different architecture and operating voltage regime and will need to post a lot of images to explain how it works.

Offline K-2SO

  • Killer Droid Extraordinaire
  • Administrator
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 1273
  • Congratulations! You are being rescued.
Re: Images Won't Post
« Reply #6 on: December 08, 2017, 02:16:35 PM »
Wait a minute... This won't work either, at least in the long run. I only have a free Image Shack file for 30 days. After that I have to pay them $40 a year to use the service. PhotoBucket is even worse, asking $400.00 a year.

Why is the Forum forcing people to subscribe to fee-based image services? It didn't used to. Up until 2016 I could post all the images I wanted from my website for free. What changed?

Is there a way I can post images without using either Photobucket or Image Shack?

It’s not “the forum’s” fault. Image hosting companies are now charging for their services. Options are being looked into, but in the end, people may have to pay something to someone to have their images hosted.  :police:



I find your arguments vague and unconvincing.

Quiet! *Slap* And there’s a fresh one if you mouth off again.

Offline DARTH VADER

  • SMF tech support
  • Board Moderator
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 10401
    • Turtle Shell Productions
Re: Images Won't Post
« Reply #7 on: December 09, 2017, 06:40:57 PM »
Basically, it’s how https works.

Because the forum went to https, no http images will display (because that would be insecure, tomdisplay a http image on an https page)

Blame google.   They required sites to use https in order to not get penalized, so the forum had to get a secure certificate
The solution would be to make your own site also https (just calling an https url on a forum without a certificate won’t work, as you have noticed) but most hosts do offer free certificates these days.

We have a proxy service which SHOULD grab http images to a local copy so it’s can be displayed...  but it seems to be broken at the moment. I blame go daddy’s screwy configurations.

The reason that links work but images don’t is that the link is just a link. The image BBC attempts to display the actual image - since the image is not from a secure https url, it can’t  be displayed within the secure content that is the rest of the page.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2017, 12:17:27 PM by DARTH VADER »

Offline ToyKeeper

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • shiny ... things ...
Re: broken proxy script
« Reply #8 on: December 27, 2017, 03:51:33 PM »
Hi, I'm getting only HTTP 406 errors on non-https images here, and it seems to be caused by an issue in the forum's http-to-https proxy script.  Is this a thing the forum admins intend to fix locally, or is it waiting on a new version of SMF from upstream?  Could it be caused by something else, like running out of quota space on the server?

I'd like to post images from my site since I often use diagrams or photos to communicate ideas but, due to hosting complications, it'll take quite a while to make my site do https.

Offline DARTH VADER

  • SMF tech support
  • Board Moderator
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 10401
    • Turtle Shell Productions
Re: Images Won't Post
« Reply #9 on: December 27, 2017, 08:02:06 PM »
It is being worked on... but no timeframe.

Seriously though...  everything should be https by now if you don’t want to be penalized by google
« Last Edit: December 28, 2017, 12:15:54 PM by DARTH VADER »

 

retrousse