fiduciary

Author Topic: Power switch problems  (Read 4645 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rich_d85

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Power switch problems
« on: November 18, 2008, 06:37:31 AM »
Hi guys
 I am just about ready to start converting my vintage graflex 3cell into a Luke ESB saber. I am only waiting on the 1" blade holder to arrive from the graflex shop.

However, I have a problem, I have no power switch
The graflex shop are out of red power buttons,  I have also contacted them to see if there micro switch will fit under the red button with a 1" blade holder, unfortunatley it dosn't.

I am just wondering if anyone here has a work around that they have used for a power switch?

Thanks
Rich

Offline Darth Eugaltsh

  • Sith Roadie
  • Master Force User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1059
  • Thank you from Darth T.
Re: Power switch problems
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2008, 07:02:49 AM »
i don't know much about graflexes, but parks does have the little red buttons, i'm not sure if there cosmetic or not?

here's a link

http://www.saberkit.com/knobs.html

i don't know if this is the right one, but it is a start ;D
*Never Forget Glitter Wars.  The Force Was With Us That Day, But It Was Too Much*

[br />The Force is strong with this one.

But only with the dark side.

Offline Rich_d85

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Power switch problems
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2008, 07:10:01 AM »
Thanks for the reply Darth
unfortunatley they are just thumb screws. Ideally what I am after is one of these:-
http://www.graflexshop.com/images/button1_lg.gif
It's a graflex button with a micro power switch installed. They have been out of stock for some time now.

i'm just wondering what people have used to power on/off there graflex in the past?

Cheers

Offline darthmorbius

  • Master Force User
  • *****
  • Posts: 12196
Re: Power switch problems
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2008, 05:40:10 PM »
If you already have the graflex... Then you just need a tactile momentary switch that is small enough to fit inside the housing.

Offline Rich_d85

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Power switch problems
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2008, 02:33:50 AM »
If you already have the graflex... Then you just need a tactile momentary switch that is small enough to fit inside the housing.

I'm a little confused when it comes to momentery switch's. is it a push and hold for on and release for off, or push and release for on and push for off?  ???

Ok the main issues that I am having is that I have got a FX RTOJ luke sound board and Erv's Lux driver on the way. As I understand it I can't run this set up with a mom switch I will need to use a latching switch. What is the best switch that I can use that is small enough to fit into a graflex?
« Last Edit: November 20, 2008, 03:08:33 AM by Rich_d85 »

Offline eastern57

  • Neato Jedi Knight
  • Master Force User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1365
Re: Power switch problems
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2008, 06:20:58 AM »
For your set-up (1" tgs blade holder) the only thing that will fit under the red button is a momentary (mini-tactile) switch. 

There's methods to make mom to latching, but they involve more complex wiring, and constructing a separate circuit on a pcb.

Offline Rich_d85

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Power switch problems
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2008, 06:38:25 AM »
For your set-up (1" tgs blade holder) the only thing that will fit under the red button is a momentary (mini-tactile) switch. 

There's methods to make mom to latching, but they involve more complex wiring, and constructing a separate circuit on a pcb.

sounds like fun :-\
So will a mom work with an FX sound card set up ???

Offline eastern57

  • Neato Jedi Knight
  • Master Force User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1365
Re: Power switch problems
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2008, 02:49:05 PM »
As a dead-man's switch... absolutely.

Offline Rich_d85

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Power switch problems
« Reply #8 on: November 21, 2008, 01:58:30 AM »
As a dead-man's switch... absolutely.

Sorry to sound dumb... Dead mans switch?

Online JANGO FETT

  • Owner of Kilsythe Customs
  • Administrator
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 9727
    • Youtube channel
Re: Power switch problems
« Reply #9 on: December 09, 2008, 07:25:58 AM »
If you are going to use a FX soundboard you need to use a latching momentary switch.

If I was you, I would use a  US 2.0 instead.


Have you heard the tragedy of Mark Hamill the Wise?

My thoughts and prayers to the padawans of Coruscant - Master Jeselnik

Offline Rich_d85

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Power switch problems
« Reply #10 on: December 09, 2008, 07:43:18 AM »
If you are going to use a FX soundboard you need to use a latching momentary switch.

If I was you, I would use a  US 2.0 instead.

Sound advice. I have come to the same conclusion my self. I am currently looking into buying a US2.0 over at TCSS. It seems less of a headache to install into a graflex (switch wise) than an MR FX card

Now lets just hope that Tim doesn’t sell out before I get paid… :o

Online JANGO FETT

  • Owner of Kilsythe Customs
  • Administrator
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 9727
    • Youtube channel
Re: Power switch problems
« Reply #11 on: December 09, 2008, 08:32:32 AM »
They shouldn't  ;D
This switch works.
http://www.thecustomsabershop.com/SPST-Momentary-tactile-switch-P261.aspx
This one will too. but it need trimming.
http://www.thecustomsabershop.com/SPST-Momentary-tactile-switch-P285.aspx

With the 2.0 you can run a Lux V, but a blue P4 looks great as well


Have you heard the tragedy of Mark Hamill the Wise?

My thoughts and prayers to the padawans of Coruscant - Master Jeselnik

Offline Rich_d85

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Power switch problems
« Reply #12 on: December 09, 2008, 08:47:31 AM »
They shouldn't  ;D
This switch works.
http://www.thecustomsabershop.com/SPST-Momentary-tactile-switch-P261.aspx
This one will too. but it need trimming.
http://www.thecustomsabershop.com/SPST-Momentary-tactile-switch-P285.aspx

With the 2.0 you can run a Lux V, but a blue P4 looks great as well

I will be running a lux III and SPST mom switch.

Only thing i'm not sure on is what batts to go for. What bats would you reccommend for use with the US2.0?

Offline Anceem Llevik

  • Experienced Force User
  • ****
  • Posts: 341
Re: Power switch problems
« Reply #13 on: December 09, 2008, 09:13:07 AM »
I had the Trustfires from TCSS recommended to me by Luke Skywalker for the US 2.0 going in my Graflex. That's the route I'm going.

MR Construction Kit, US Dominix, US Initiate, The Persuader by Do-Clo, Graflex