fiduciary

Author Topic: Rigid duel capabable lightsaber blade that rolls up to fit in your pocket  (Read 3401 times)

Offline LightSaberScroll

• No Force
  • New Retractable Lightsaber Tech
Hello, I'm an engineer and inventor and Star Wars fan. I've always been fascinated by the lightsaber.  I'm currently working on a way to make the lightsaber blade more compact and retractable but still rigid enough for dueling with the minimum amount of design tradeoffs.  I'm currently working with a new technology/material, a rigid lightsaber blade (made out of a engineered material) for dueling that rolls up into a compact form factor small enough to fit in your pocket.  Parameters (length, width, overlapping diameter, translucence, strength, materials, etc.) can be changed/engineered. Let me know what you think.  Just a proof of concept idea right now. Thanks. 

Check out my two proof of concept videos below:

« Last Edit: May 21, 2017, 11:17:49 AM by LightSaberScroll »

Offline Onli-Won Kanomi

• Master Force User
  • Jedi Knight Of Faith
*raised eyebrow* Fascinating!

I am intrigued by this material and look forward to seeing if you can develop it into a practical blade. From your videos there are a few questions and a concern I have:

I saw that you did not completely unroll the material...is the demonstrated rigidity dependent upon a portion at the base remaining 'rolled up'?

What degree of dueling strength is there to the material in its extended rigid form; is it suitable for light sparring only or for heavy or even 'gorilla' dueling as well? Even if it is only suitable for light impacts it still could have 'show blade' uses for cosplay, choregraphy etc but for dueling the stronger the better, all else relatively near-equal [meaning that sufficient strength/thickness did not make it unacceptably dim].