fiduciary

Author Topic: Connector and wiring current ratings  (Read 1077 times)

Offline ToddF

• No Force
  • Um...Hello?
Connector and wiring current ratings
« on: September 27, 2019, 07:21:19 AM »
It's come up on one of the Facebook groups I follow that JST connectors, which battery manufacturers commonly install on high current batteries, are not rated to carry the current which the batteries are capable of supplying.  This raised the related issue of the current carrying capacity of the wires themselves.

I wanted to post a response which is more suited to a forum post than a FB post.  So here I am.  First, an introduction:  I am completely new to the saber building scene.  I'm a mechanical engineer with a background in robotics, and I'm currently a contractor at NASA Langley Research Center.  Over the years I've heavily dabbled in the world of electric powered RC aircraft, and I've been a mentor on a high school robotics team for going on ten years.  Connector and wiring selection are important in all these fields.  I'm approaching this issue using the theoretical knowledge of an engineer, mixed with a healthy dose of real world application in similar, but not identical, applications.