fiduciary

Author Topic: Aren't all sabers LED? Should this forum be called In-Hilt LED Sabers?  (Read 2368 times)

Offline Gallandro

• No Force
  • An elegant weapon, for a more civilized age.
Genuinely curious: why is this forum named LED SABERS?  Aren't all sabers LED?  I see the subtitle is "discuss everything about Luxeon LED Sabers", and it doesn't make much sense to me, because the current standard for in-hilt star configuration LEDS seems to be the tri-Cree.  Newbie here,trying to learn.

Offline TrypWyr

• Master Force User
Re: Aren't all sabers LED? Should this forum be called In-Hilt LED Sabers?
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2016, 11:25:27 PM »
Back in the day there were EL sabers (picture the movie "Tron").

We know also have LED string sabers (MR and Hasbro, but also MUCH higher quality builds by Makoto and others).

As far as "Luxeon LED", well, we now have others as well but still characterized by the single (or multi-die) LEDs in the emitter.

I may be missing other tech I'm not familiar with...  :angel:

Offline Gallandro

• No Force
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2016, 11:47:49 PM »
Back in the day there were EL sabers (picture the movie "Tron").

We know also have LED string sabers (MR and Hasbro, but also MUCH higher quality builds by Makoto and others).

As far as "Luxeon LED", well, we now have others as well but still characterized by the single (or multi-die) LEDs in the emitter.

I may be missing other tech I'm not familiar with...  :angel:

I think you're reinforcing my point.  It seems like whoever set up or named this forum did so when the Luxeon was a big deal.  Now, it probably should be renamed "In-Hilt LED Sabers" in order to make sense. -edit- And, if it's supposed to cover all lighting, simply call it "Lighting", "Illumination" or "Light Sources".
« Last Edit: December 24, 2016, 11:50:43 PM by Gallandro »

Offline Onli-Won Kanomi

• Master Force User
  • Jedi Knight Of Faith
« Reply #3 on: December 25, 2016, 12:49:35 AM »