fiduciary

Author Topic: Introducing: TeensySaber V3  (Read 1068 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline profezzorn

  • Mining Colony Members
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 835
  • May the source be with you.
    • Hubbe's Corner
Introducing: TeensySaber V3
« on: September 10, 2017, 11:13:29 AM »


The TeensySaber V3 is a minor improvement upon the V2 design. The only differences are:

1. The amplifier has been upgraded with a 3W digital amplifier which provides loud cd-quality audio
2. It is slightly shorter (2.5mm)

Perhaps more exciting than the actual hardware upgrades is the interactive board configurator which let's you select how you want to hook up your TeensySaber, then displays the circuit diagram and configuration file.

Configurator and V3 information: Teensy Saber Electronics V3
TeensySaber Softare and feature list: Teensy Saber OS (beta)

I should have TeensySaber V3 boards for sale in a few days.

Offline KanyonKris

  • Padawan Learner
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Um...Hello?
Re: Introducing: TeensySaber V3
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2017, 04:21:22 AM »
I believe V3 also moved BladePowerPin1 to pin 6 and BladePowerPin2 to pin 10, according to the V3_config.h file on GitHub and my own experiments with the V3 board. Please update the schematic.

BTW, a few friends and I are building some sabers based on your design. Thank you for making your excellent work available.

Offline profezzorn

  • Mining Colony Members
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 835
  • May the source be with you.
    • Hubbe's Corner
Re: Introducing: TeensySaber V3
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2017, 10:19:21 AM »
Isn't that what the schematics say? What schematics are you looking at?
Glad you find the designs useful, that is what open-source is all about after all. :)

Offline KanyonKris

  • Padawan Learner
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Um...Hello?
Re: Introducing: TeensySaber V3
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2017, 09:38:28 PM »
I believe the schematic image here is wrong - Teensy Saber Electronics V3.0
Shouldn't Q1 be connected to pin 6 and Q2 to pin 10? I just downloaded the KiCAD files from that page and the KiCAD schematic also looks wrong.

Offline profezzorn

  • Mining Colony Members
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 835
  • May the source be with you.
    • Hubbe's Corner
Re: Introducing: TeensySaber V3
« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2017, 12:32:29 AM »
I believe the schematic image here is wrong - Teensy Saber Electronics V3.0
Shouldn't Q1 be connected to pin 6 and Q2 to pin 10? I just downloaded the KiCAD files from that page and the KiCAD schematic also looks wrong.

I'm confused, not only does it look right to me, it looks exactly like what you describe.

Q1 is connected to CH1 which is connected to pin 6 on the teensy.
Q2 is connected to CH2 which is connected to pin 10 on the teensy.


Offline KanyonKris

  • Padawan Learner
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Um...Hello?
Re: Introducing: TeensySaber V3
« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2017, 03:49:51 PM »
Ah, I see my mistake. In previous schematics the lines for Q1 and Q2 went horizontally left right into the Teensy pins. But for V3 you created the CH1 and CH2 labels as a way to jump over to the other side of the Teensy instead of drawing lines. I was biased from the V2 schematic and didn't notice the CH1 and CH2 labels had been inserted so I just saw those lines connecting straight across left as in previous schematics. A bit confusing, but the V3 schematic is correct. Sorry, my error.

Our sabers are progressing. We're driving a test section of 10 RGB LEDs to dial in the blade diffusion. Tomorrow we'll be hooking up the speaker and some switches to test: sound, on/off/modes, and motion. We're gunning to have our sabers complete in time for the movie opening.

Offline KanyonKris

  • Padawan Learner
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Um...Hello?
Two Grounds?
« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2017, 09:06:08 AM »
profezzorn, TeensySaber board V2 had only one ground connection, the battery-, but the V3 board has battery- and a wire connection to the GND pin. Why? We are doing a group build and have a mix of V2 and V3 boards and this GND connection tripped us up (spend a good hour trying to figure out why the V3 board would work with only battery+ and battery- connected, of course it came right up when we connected a wire from battery- to GND). Is it to accommodate different ways of powering the saber? Anyway, I recommend adding a zero Ohm resistor to the PCB design to eliminate the need for the wire from battery- to GND, it would be cleaner and users would have the choice to load the zero Ohm resistor or not.

Offline profezzorn

  • Mining Colony Members
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 835
  • May the source be with you.
    • Hubbe's Corner
Re: Two Grounds?
« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2017, 10:53:58 AM »
profezzorn, TeensySaber board V2 had only one ground connection, the battery-, but the V3 board has battery- and a wire connection to the GND pin. Why? We are doing a group build and have a mix of V2 and V3 boards and this GND connection tripped us up (spend a good hour trying to figure out why the V3 board would work with only battery+ and battery- connected, of course it came right up when we connected a wire from battery- to GND). Is it to accommodate different ways of powering the saber? Anyway, I recommend adding a zero Ohm resistor to the PCB design to eliminate the need for the wire from battery- to GND, it would be cleaner and users would have the choice to load the zero Ohm resistor or not.

BATT- goes goes to the FETs
GND powers the electronics (and also serves as the ground for buttons)

The only time it makes sense to wire them separately is when you're using a blade connector for a kill switch. (Which I do in some of my sabers.)
Sorry about the confusion.

Offline KanyonKris

  • Padawan Learner
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Um...Hello?
Re: Two Grounds?
« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2017, 04:03:35 PM »
BATT- goes goes to the FETs
GND powers the electronics (and also serves as the ground for buttons)

The only time it makes sense to wire them separately is when you're using a blade connector for a kill switch. (Which I do in some of my sabers.)
Sorry about the confusion.
Thank you for the clarification, I see how having a separate ground for the electronics could be useful. In fact I will probably wire in a kill (master power) switch into my blade since I will only have one blade. It will be nice to disconnect power by simply removing the blade.