fiduciary

Author Topic: Custom Neopixel Strip Concept and Testing - UPDATED  (Read 3378 times)

Offline SaintLuke

• No Force
  • Um...Hello?
Custom Neopixel Strip Concept and Testing - UPDATED
« on: January 14, 2020, 08:05:40 PM »
Hello Folks! This post is sort of an introduction, and also includes what's in the title...

My name is Mark and I have been building sabers since 2009. I took a break from the hobby in 2015 for some other projects and am finally back. I cannot tell you how excited I was to see both Neopixels and Smoothswing...wow!

Anyways, I am working on a new saber and was not super happy with the available Neopixel strips. If you go with the "Skinny Mini" 3535 strips you sacrifice some brightness for evenness. On the other hand the 5050 strips are brighter, but harder to diffuse. I saw KR-Saber's new hard-PCB strip and was inspired to try something similar.

I have made some progress on the design and wanted to share it here to see if anyone has suggestions or tips. I'll keep this thread updated with progress.

Here are some renderings of a proof-of-concept model (parallel data lines not shown):

[nofollow]          [nofollow]          [nofollow]
Specs:
  • Width: 6.9 mm
  • Thickness 3.3 mm
  • Density ~144 LED/m
  • Total Cost: $30

So you get smaller width/height than skinny strips and the same pixel density, all with 5050 Neopixels instead of 3535.

In order to drive the LED's with a single set of voltage rails, you have to flip the LEDS on one side of the strip 180-degrees...basically an upside-down mirror image. This, however, causes the data line of one side to run from top to bottom, which is a problem. I had the idea to pull the intermediate data signal from between each LED from the serial side to drive each LED on the reversed-side. Below is a picture of the test-setup I made. Also, here is a link to a short video of it working: Driving Parallel Neopixels - for Lightsaber - YouTube [nofollow]

[nofollow]