fiduciary

Author Topic: another Luke ANH review  (Read 7113 times)

Offline majorj0nny

• No Force
    • 50klicks.com
another Luke ANH review
« on: April 22, 2008, 01:01:00 PM »
... this time by a saber noob! :)

I got my Luke ANH 2007 saber today, Im totally new to the whole world of lightsabers but Im kinda mixed in my feelings about this saber.

box and packaging is all nice and good - stand looks ok (i suppose its the same with all these force fx sabers?)

the hilt itself - while the main chromed part is a think metal - aluminium I supposem and there is more metal around the grip, the battery cover end, etc ... I think it would have been nice to have the buttons of the hilt in metal too, these look perfectly metalic , but feel warm and light like only plastic does.

the blade is nice and long, sounds are good (though I have nothing to compare them too apart from youtube videos) lights nice ...

the main problem I have with this, I can even forgive and forget the lightness of the hilt which i didnt think would bother me, but my main problem is creeking !

from what I can tell this creek is the meeting of the ring of chromed plactic round the base of the blade and the blade plastic itself. plastic on plastic ... simple as.

the creek on mine is so bad that you can hear it simply moving the saber round in your hands - not even with any rapid swipes and swings.

this only serves to re-enforce the idea in my mind that plastic is at work on this saber - and when Im trying to ignore that fact, im constantly reminded.

im wondering if a little oil or wd40 or similar round the lip of the ring at the base of the blade will be enough to provide a perminant solution to this creeking ? I can imagine that having this saber in a humid environment like outdoors, or with differing temperatures might lessen of worsen this effect?

so on the plus side :

looks very nice
light and sound is great

on the negative:

feels lighter than I imagined it should