fiduciary

Author Topic: Will a Heavy Grade damage a regular blade?  (Read 4411 times)

Offline Darkhawk

• No Force
  • Um...Hello?
Will a Heavy Grade damage a regular blade?
« on: January 06, 2016, 12:40:26 PM »
I'm thinking of getting sabers from two different manufacturers, and one does not offer the "heavy" upgrade.  Both are duelling sabers, but I just wonder if anyone has experience pitting a Heavy blade against a regular one.  Is there any reason (weight, maybe?) that the Heavy would damage the regular blade in a duel?  Note that I am a newbie and not actually doing any serious duelling.  Basically just fooling around.

Offline Elim Vos

• Master Force User
  • doing what is necessary is not always right
Re: Will a Heavy Grade damage a regular blade?
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2016, 01:13:25 PM »
Yes,
 a heavy grade or thick walled blade will damage a thinner thin walled blade.
A heavy grade blade is 1/8" thick and a thin is 1/16".
The heavier blade will damage the lighter one.

I know this from experience,

Elim
"In the Light, I have Balance. In the Darkness, I am Free"

Offline Psab Keel

• Master Force User
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2017, 09:39:32 PM »
1. Blade matching:

The key to making your sabers to be able to take a beating is to match like blade to like blade. You wouldn't duel with a thin walled 3/4 O.D. blade against a 1 inch thick walled blade.  Even actual swords were not designed to be smashed against one another wildly with no concern for technique and a swordsman worth his salt would never in their right mind hit their precious blade against a tree or telephone pole to test its durability. That's just plain stupid.

2. Nothing is unbreakable: