fiduciary

Author Topic: Some not so obvious (at first) do's and don'ts to wiring up sabers.  (Read 35702 times)

Offline ANAKIN SKYWALKER

• Manufacturer VIP
  • Master Force User
  • Formerly Known as Alex Gordon
    • Evolution Arms
Okay, so ive been building for over two years, seriously for one year, and I wanted to share some things I have learned that may not be so obvious to everyone.  I know most of them were not obvious to me when I started, and they caused mistakes to occur that could have been prevented.

#1: Do not try to solder a pad that is smaller than your iron tip.  Yes, this means do not try to use the corner of your chisel tip. 

#2: Do not solder with an SD card in the board (if applicable)

#3: Do not just close up the saber, cross your fingers, and pull the killkey.  You should review your wiring multiple times prior to closing up the saber.   

addon from Jango- Use a benchtop power supply to test all wiring setups. 

#4: Do not try to "just shove it in there."  It doesn't work.  Trust me. 

#5: Do not make the wires long enough to solder everything in place outside of the hilt and then slide it in.  This is called spaghetti wiring and is a big no-no.  There are exceptions to this rule, but if it can be avoided, you shouldn't do it. 

#6: Do not plan your first saber to be some fancy pants, full bargraph, FoC™, 18650 pack, rumble motor, 2W speaker, crystal chamber, pommel leds, and everything else in the same saber.  It will not work.  Sure, when you have a few sabers under your belt you can do it, but do not plan it for your first one. 

#7: Do not ever take the easy way out.  If a connection that you can reach with your solering iron without disassembling the whole hilt comes lose, you better take the whole saber apart instead of trying to reach it with your iron.  If you don't, you will touch something you shouldn't have and break it.