fiduciary

Author Topic: 2005 Master Replica Vader Sabre has no sound  (Read 964 times)

Offline jweaver100

• No Force
  • Um...Hello?
2005 Master Replica Vader Sabre has no sound
« on: October 24, 2023, 06:43:41 AM »
I have a pair of 2005 Master Replica Sabres and the Vader version has lost its sound.

It 100% used to work, but the last time I switch it on, the batteries had clearly died as it was very dim.. But since then, only the light works and not the sound.

I have tried opening up the electronics module several times, but its clearly glued and I am going to destroy it..

Does anyone have any tips on how to get inside? And if so, are there any known failure modes and obvious components I could replace.

Offline QUI-GON JINN

• Also known as Jay-gon Jinn!
  • JEDI/ALLIANCE Master MODERATOR
  • Master Force User
  • Your focus determines your reality
Re: 2005 Master Replica Vader Sabre has no sound
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2023, 08:33:42 AM »
A common issue if the batteries leaked would be corrosion on the contact pins or the wiring inside the battery pack itself. IIRC, the only way to open those is to break the seam with a thin, sharp knife blade.

If it is not corrosion related in the battery pack, it might be the transistor that acts as the audio amp on the soundboard itself. You'd have to dismantle the saber to get to that and also crack open the housing to get to it. Dis-assembly instructions can be found here: http://forums.thecustomsabershop.com/showthread.php?1-05-MR-Vader-Done-amp-kits-available
« Last Edit: October 24, 2023, 08:46:43 AM by QUI-GON JINN »

Offline jweaver100

• No Force
  • Um...Hello?
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2023, 09:31:20 AM »
A common issue if the batteries leaked would be corrosion on the contact pins or the wiring inside the battery pack itself. IIRC, the only way to open those is to break the seam with a thin, sharp knife blade.