fiduciary

Author Topic: Economy boards and LED strings.  (Read 1892 times)

Offline SirRawThunderMan

• Master Force User
  • Very, Very English Poster
Economy boards and LED strings.
« on: March 05, 2016, 07:54:44 AM »
I plan on doing a bit more experimentation/practice with LED strings soon. The only sound boards I have on hand are economy boards: one 2010 Vader Ultimate FX, one ROTJ Luke Bladebuilder. Bit weak, I know, but I'm still starting out. besides, they're cheap, and disposable if the need arises.

I plan to make two LED strings, one per board. The Luke will have one string of parallel LEDs, and I will be using the "standard" economy wiring as described here 2010 Electronic Lightsaber w/ DVD Tutorial , as if it works with one high power LED, I can't see why it shouldn't work with multiple LEDs that draws the same total amount of power.

For the Vader board, I'd like to try and use the board's scrolling capabilities, so I plan on trying an LED string with a common ground, with everything going directly through the board's output (no PNP transistor setup)

Now, the question is this: how much can I safely put through the boards? I've used both to power a 3.7v, 1A Ledengin, through the economy wiring method, but 1A is only 50 LEDs (@20mA) and I plan to try for a 100led string on both, which puts that at 2A. I've got the appropriate resistors (1 ohm, 5watt) but I'm unsure if the boards can handle that much without dying.

Any feedback would be welcome.
Better late than never.

Offline JakeSoft

• Experienced Force User
  • The Arduino Jedi
    • Universal Saber Library
Re: Economy boards and LED strings.
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2016, 08:34:48 AM »
If you are driving your LEDs with FETs, then you aren't putting all that current through your sound board. It should be fine. Just wire your FETs directly into your battery power. The only thing that needs to touch your sound board is the gate pins, and those draw minuscule amounts of current.