fiduciary

Author Topic: Search might be broken  (Read 1529 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SirRawThunderMan

  • Master Force User
  • *****
  • Posts: 688
  • Very, Very English Poster
Search might be broken
« on: August 01, 2020, 05:02:56 AM »
For the last couple of days, everything I type into the search bar gets me no results. At first, I figured that was my searches being a bit too esoteric, but I've just tried with some more common terms (saber, TCSS, Luke, Yoda, ROTJ, Graflex) and those produced no results, either. I tried both with the quick and advanced search, same results.

Conclusion: I think something's borked with the search bar.
Better late than never.

Offline DARTH VADER

  • SMF tech support
  • Board Moderator
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 10396
    • Turtle Shell Productions
Re: Search might be broken
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2020, 06:02:58 AM »
Oops. Yeah, I had to disable the search index for an upgrade and forgot to enable and rebuild it.
I'll get that fixed this weekend.

Thanks for calling it out

Offline SirRawThunderMan

  • Master Force User
  • *****
  • Posts: 688
  • Very, Very English Poster
Re: Search might be broken
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2020, 07:03:10 AM »
Awesome, thanks.
Better late than never.

Offline scott

  • Experienced Force User
  • ****
  • Posts: 343
  • Oh, I don’t think so.
Re: Search might be broken
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2020, 07:45:41 AM »
I noticed too and figured it was an index...that said, often times google searches are more accurate as long as you tag them FX sabers :)

Offline DARTH VADER

  • SMF tech support
  • Board Moderator
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 10396
    • Turtle Shell Productions
Re: Search might be broken
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2020, 02:36:24 PM »
Should be fixed

Offline SirRawThunderMan

  • Master Force User
  • *****
  • Posts: 688
  • Very, Very English Poster
Re: Search might be broken
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2020, 02:46:23 PM »
Looks like it's working fine now. Thanks!
Better late than never.

Offline chanutpunno

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • suh dude
Re: Search might be broken
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2021, 06:48:17 PM »
Has search been disabled? on Trade forums at least

Offline DARTH VADER

  • SMF tech support
  • Board Moderator
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 10396
    • Turtle Shell Productions
Re: Search might be broken
« Reply #7 on: November 17, 2021, 03:01:41 PM »
no.  Search appears to be working just fine now, including on the trade forums

Online jbkuma

  • Mining Colony Members
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 964
  • Pixels, everywhere.
    • Mad Science Workshoppe
Re: Search might be broken
« Reply #8 on: November 17, 2021, 06:20:38 PM »
There are frequent error messages like this:
Quote
An Error Has Occurred!
Due to high stress on the server, the search function has been automatically and temporarily disabled. Please try again in a short while.

Offline K-2SO

  • Killer Droid Extraordinaire
  • Administrator
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 1183
  • Congratulations! You are being rescued.
Re: Search might be broken
« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2021, 06:12:06 PM »
There are frequent error messages like this:
Quote
An Error Has Occurred!
Due to high stress on the server, the search function has been automatically and temporarily disabled. Please try again in a short while.

I get that every so often as well.




I find your arguments vague and unconvincing.

Quiet! *Slap* And there’s a fresh one if you mouth off again.

Offline DARTH VADER

  • SMF tech support
  • Board Moderator
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 10396
    • Turtle Shell Productions
Re: Search might be broken
« Reply #10 on: November 23, 2021, 08:59:13 AM »
It might happen if the search engine bots are pounding the site right at the time of your search.    I can't see any other reason why the server would trigger the load reduction routines....

but no, search is not actually disabled.