fiduciary

Author Topic: Teensysaber V1 with Teensy 3.5  (Read 1736 times)

Offline Elthion

• No Force
  • Um...Hello?
Teensysaber V1 with Teensy 3.5
« on: April 11, 2020, 08:01:11 AM »
Hi,

I am pretty new to lightsaber building and at first I wanted to try to make a Teensysaber V1 based on the great website of Fredrik Hübinette. Below I will give as much information as I can to explain my current setup.

As the Teensysaber V1 needs a SD card adapter, I thought that using a Teensy 3.5 will allow me to avoid buying the Teensy + SD adapter and simplify soldering. So I did that.

At the moment I am using the Teensy 3.5, PropShield, LiPower boost converter Sparkfun (I removed the capacitor as described on the website), one strip of WS2812B (for now to test the working principle, then I will stick an other strip with this one to have both sides and add more blades), only one FET (one of the two models described on the website: FQP30N06L), a 18650 Keeppower 3120mAh with protection circuit built-in, a 28mm TCS Wow Speaker.

In my setup I only have one button to switch ON/OFF the saber that I soldered to pin 17 (so I changed the power button of v1_config.h to 17).

I did my configuration file as described on the website based on V3 first (because there is the configurator). I modified v3_config.h to v1_config.h and added the following lines based on what is needed for v1 configs:
#define DUAL_POWER_BUTTONS
#define BATTERY_PULLUP_OHMS 20000
#define ENABLE_SERIALFLASH

Right now, when I use the saber no sound is coming out and only the first LED of the strip is green (with one small red dot) when the saber is "off".

When I launch the software here is what I see in the monitor:
Amplifier off.
I2C TRY
I2C pullups found, initializing...
Accel setup ...  Done
Gyro setup ...  Done

Then, if I press the button (quick) I have the following:

EVENT: Power-Pressed millis=12079
EVENT: Power-Released millis=12246
EVENT: Power-Shortclick millis=12247
Ignition.