fiduciary

Author Topic: Can't connect to RICE  (Read 1290 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Synbios16

  • Padawan Learner
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Saber newbie
    • Flickr
Can't connect to RICE
« on: March 16, 2021, 08:21:08 PM »
New to this kind of saber. Have CFX board in SaberTrio Saber, connected to Windows 7 laptop via USB.
Installed Rice 10.005I.
Installed all drivers in adafruit_drivers_2.4.0.0.

I can't get RICE to recognize the saber's plugged in. I click "port list" and nothing happens.

What should be the order of operations or what are "obvious" things I probably missed?
« Last Edit: March 16, 2021, 08:26:36 PM by Synbios16 »








Offline rpg007

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Um...Hello?
Re: Can't connect to RICE
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2021, 09:04:33 PM »
Just joined the group and see this is from a while ago. Check the USB cable you are using -- some simply do not work to communicate back and forth between the computer and the board.

Offline nunya

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • nothing personal
Re: Can't connect to RICE
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2021, 09:53:55 AM »
New to this kind of saber. Have CFX board in SaberTrio Saber, connected to Windows 7 laptop via USB.
Installed Rice 10.005I.
Installed all drivers in adafruit_drivers_2.4.0.0.

I can't get RICE to recognize the saber's plugged in. I click "port list" and nothing happens.

What should be the order of operations or what are "obvious" things I probably missed?
I am having my own lighting/power challenges at the moment but was able to get RICE working via RICE port in the hilt via TCSS purchased USB to 3.5mm R.I.C.E.™ cable but only to my windows 10 PC with stated drivers and some PC configuration.


Offline QUI-GON JINN

  • Also known as Jay-gon Jinn!
  • JEDI/ALLIANCE Master MODERATOR
  • Master Force User
  • **
  • Posts: 8448
  • Your focus determines your reality
Re: Can't connect to RICE
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2021, 02:03:48 PM »
One other thing to check is to make sure you have the wires on your RICE port correct...I recently built a saber and had the TX and rX wires reversed...this after wiring over 50 of those ports over the years.


Offline K-2SO

  • Killer Droid Extraordinaire
  • Administrator
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 1216
  • Congratulations! You are being rescued.
Re: Can't connect to RICE
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2021, 03:07:49 PM »
They may be using a CFX, in shich case, the port is in the board, The CFX needs to be “on” for RICE to read it.




I find your arguments vague and unconvincing.

Quiet! *Slap* And there’s a fresh one if you mouth off again.

Offline QUI-GON JINN

  • Also known as Jay-gon Jinn!
  • JEDI/ALLIANCE Master MODERATOR
  • Master Force User
  • **
  • Posts: 8448
  • Your focus determines your reality
Re: Can't connect to RICE
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2021, 08:07:04 PM »
They may be using a CFX, in shich case, the port is in the board, The CFX needs to be “on” for RICE to read it.
D'oh...I'd know that if i ever got around to installing the two I have.  :cheesy:


Offline K-2SO

  • Killer Droid Extraordinaire
  • Administrator
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 1216
  • Congratulations! You are being rescued.
Re: Can't connect to RICE
« Reply #6 on: August 07, 2021, 06:55:07 PM »
They may be using a CFX, in shich case, the port is in the board, The CFX needs to be “on” for RICE to read it.
D'oh...I'd know that if i ever got around to installing the two I have.  :cheesy:

Still haven’t fully recovered from that “stomach ache” on Naboo, huh??  :cheesy:




I find your arguments vague and unconvincing.

Quiet! *Slap* And there’s a fresh one if you mouth off again.

Offline erv

  • Plecter Labs Inc. "Keeper of the Buttered Toast"
  • Manufacturer
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 4870
  • Formerly known as Irvin PLECTER
    • Plecter Labs - Props Electronics
Re: Can't connect to RICE
« Reply #7 on: September 21, 2021, 04:48:34 AM »
I'm sorry I missed a lot of notifications from the forum. Check your USB cable is a "full one" not just a charging one

also, if it's a driver issue, check if the USB peripheral is popping up in the device list of your device manager and produces the "ding dong" sound when plugged in (board already powered).

 

retrousse