fiduciary

Author Topic: Neopixel blade assembly - an experience exchange board  (Read 26986 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jbkuma

  • Mining Colony Members
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 970
  • Pixels, everywhere.
    • Mad Science Workshoppe
Re: Neopixel blade assembly - an experience exchange board
« Reply #15 on: July 05, 2017, 05:04:24 PM »
Connect the battery to the 5v pad. It should be fine. I've used micro, nano, uno, and attiny85 all with no problem.

Offline Azsde

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Um...Hello?
Re: Neopixel blade assembly - an experience exchange board
« Reply #16 on: July 05, 2017, 11:47:14 PM »
Connect the battery to the 5v pad. It should be fine. I've used micro, nano, uno, and attiny85 all with no problem.

On a nano it is slightly better when connecting to the 5V pin, but all timed related behaviors are still incorrect. I'm going to buy an arduino pro mini, which is supposed to run fine on a 3.3V.
« Last Edit: July 05, 2017, 11:58:49 PM by Azsde »

Offline Obi_1

  • Mining Colony Members
  • Experienced Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 476
  • Creator of DIYino - first open source FX-board
Re: Neopixel blade assembly - an experience exchange board
« Reply #17 on: July 06, 2017, 06:03:33 AM »
The nano can work off a 3.7V battery, have several DIYino builds with that setup and I can not confirm any timing related topics. Your problem might be related to the conencting the voltage supply to the VIN pin, which is the input of the voltage regulator which cannot regulate up. Connect to 5V as suggested and it will work.

Anyway, I suggest to move such technical discussion to the Arduino Forum, there are 2 saber related threads there from Jake and me, pleanty of helping hands if needed :)

Offline Azsde

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Um...Hello?
Re: Neopixel blade assembly - an experience exchange board
« Reply #18 on: July 22, 2017, 04:25:45 AM »
I managed to get it working of the nano, but I am having a huge issue, as soon as the blade is lit, it seems that the arduino freezes and nothing works anymore.

It seems to happen when too much power is drawn from the led strip.

If i separate the power sources ( 5v usb for the arduino, and 3.7V for the LED strip from lipo battery with a common ground between the two), everything works as intended.

How can I fix this issue ?

Offline profezzorn

  • Mining Colony Members
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 900
  • May the source be with you.
    • Hubbe's Corner
Re: Neopixel blade assembly - an experience exchange board
« Reply #19 on: July 22, 2017, 11:09:10 AM »
Get a better battery, capable of at least 10A continuos current.

Offline jbkuma

  • Mining Colony Members
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 970
  • Pixels, everywhere.
    • Mad Science Workshoppe
Re: Neopixel blade assembly - an experience exchange board
« Reply #20 on: July 22, 2017, 03:36:07 PM »
Agreed, if you've hooked it up via the 5v pin (not the Vin) and it's still not working, your battery is probably not supplying sufficient current.

Offline Azsde

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Um...Hello?
Re: Neopixel blade assembly - an experience exchange board
« Reply #21 on: July 23, 2017, 03:24:39 AM »
Are you sure the battery is the issue?

I have this battery

Keeppower icr26650 5200mAh 3.7V rechargeable protégée batterie li-ion Sale -

According to the specs it should be enough, right?

Offline jbkuma

  • Mining Colony Members
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 970
  • Pixels, everywhere.
    • Mad Science Workshoppe
Re: Neopixel blade assembly - an experience exchange board
« Reply #22 on: July 23, 2017, 07:24:45 AM »
The specs seem OK, and the reviews I've found seem to feel the ratings are legitimate.  This seems very odd.

Offline Azsde

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Um...Hello?
Re: Neopixel blade assembly - an experience exchange board
« Reply #23 on: July 23, 2017, 08:19:09 AM »
The specs seem OK, and the reviews I've found seem to feel the ratings are legitimate.  This seems very odd.

If I use my own code rather than lightsaberOs, and only use the led strip (no sound, nor motion sensor), it can light up just fine

So I'm not sure what is going on here

Offline jbkuma

  • Mining Colony Members
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 970
  • Pixels, everywhere.
    • Mad Science Workshoppe
Re: Neopixel blade assembly - an experience exchange board
« Reply #24 on: July 23, 2017, 08:49:01 AM »
I've never seen any issue similar to this in all of our development, I really have no idea what else the cause could be other than a stray keystroke (enough to drive one mad!) or something with a library working unexpectedly.

Offline Obi_1

  • Mining Colony Members
  • Experienced Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 476
  • Creator of DIYino - first open source FX-board
Re: Neopixel blade assembly - an experience exchange board
« Reply #25 on: July 23, 2017, 09:47:24 AM »
Can you pinpoint in the code when it starts misbehaving? The MPU and the sound chip consume negligible power compared to the stripes. How many pixels are you trying to use? Because if you use too many, you can easily have the controller run out of dynamic memory and freeze (mostly reset). Now if you stop MPU and sound chip (i.e. free up some dynamic memory) it might again have enough free space to run the code. As a good rule of thumb, do not use more than 120 pixels. For trial start by reducing the number of pixs to say about 50 and report what you see (hear, feel etc.)

Offline Azsde

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Um...Hello?
Re: Neopixel blade assembly - an experience exchange board
« Reply #26 on: July 24, 2017, 05:58:17 AM »
Can you pinpoint in the code when it starts misbehaving? The MPU and the sound chip consume negligible power compared to the stripes. How many pixels are you trying to use? Because if you use too many, you can easily have the controller run out of dynamic memory and freeze (mostly reset). Now if you stop MPU and sound chip (i.e. free up some dynamic memory) it might again have enough free space to run the code. As a good rule of thumb, do not use more than 120 pixels. For trial start by reducing the number of pixs to say about 50 and report what you see (hear, feel etc.)

I need to make a serial cable in order to do so.

Silly me already has fried a nano clone I was using, powering my whole setup (LED strip included) straight from +5V USB  :lipsrsealed:

Edit:

I fried another nano by shorting Vin and GND, it doesn't work in USB anymore :(

But here is a picture of my LED strips running all 288 LEDs (144x2) at 100 brightness (over 255).



So I'm guessing power isn't the issue here, is it ?
« Last Edit: July 24, 2017, 11:18:53 PM by Azsde »

Offline Azsde

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Um...Hello?
Re: Neopixel blade assembly - an experience exchange board
« Reply #27 on: July 27, 2017, 10:38:53 AM »
I have received my new arduino, I'm trying to get the whole system set up, but for some reason the push button is behaving strange.

A single press is taken into account as a double press, causing the jukebox to trigger.

Do you guys how to fix this issue?

Offline profezzorn

  • Mining Colony Members
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 900
  • May the source be with you.
    • Hubbe's Corner
Re: Neopixel blade assembly - an experience exchange board
« Reply #28 on: July 27, 2017, 12:08:06 PM »
I have received my new arduino, I'm trying to get the whole system set up, but for some reason the push button is behaving strange.

A single press is taken into account as a double press, causing the jukebox to trigger.

Do you guys how to fix this issue?

Add de-bouncing to the code?

Offline Azsde

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Um...Hello?
Re: Neopixel blade assembly - an experience exchange board
« Reply #29 on: July 27, 2017, 01:50:20 PM »
Somehow the issue went away on its own  :huh:

Anyway, regarding the initial issue, with 120 leds (per strip, so 240 leds total), when going into config mode, and choosing colors, it ends up freezing on the same color everytime.

Here are he traces:

Code: [Select]
START CONF
Main button longPress stop
Main button double click.
Main colorMain button click.
Main button click.
Main button click.

And then nothing responds anymore  :embarrassed:

I'm going to try and use the FastLED library instead of the library currently used.

FastLED library provided me good results when coding my PoCs, so maybe it will be better.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2017, 02:39:23 PM by Azsde »

 

retrousse