fiduciary

Author Topic: [Solved] Neopixel no light up  (Read 2411 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline seelenkrieger

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Um...Hello?
[Solved] Neopixel no light up
« on: February 22, 2023, 11:00:30 PM »
hey to all
Hope someone could help me with my 2 new Neopixel lightsabers.
received yesterday my CFX boards, and for some reason, the neopixel and also the Light of SHTOKCUSTOMWORX Hilt connector led didn't light up.
Sound is working fine.
at the moment I'm not at home, so no pic.

Battery is a 18650 3600mAh
the wiring is battery+ to the connector, - from the 4 LED pads and the dataline as mention from the LS port.

in the config the "ledstrip" parameter is changed to 16 to match for testing the Hilt connector led.

so far no success.
« Last Edit: March 02, 2023, 09:30:08 PM by seelenkrieger »

Offline erv

  • Plecter Labs Inc. "Keeper of the Buttered Toast"
  • Manufacturer
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 4920
  • Formerly known as Irvin PLECTER
    • Plecter Labs - Props Electronics
Re: [Solved] Neopixel no light up
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2023, 02:53:08 AM »
bladeplug possibly wired to LS2. See Shtok's manual for wiring the hilt side of the PCB. His PCBs wiring is also covered (partially) in the CFX manual

Offline seelenkrieger

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Um...Hello?
Re: [Solved] Neopixel no light up
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2023, 03:40:48 AM »
Have wired the V2 version so that this light up with the blade


« Last Edit: February 23, 2023, 04:16:55 AM by seelenkrieger »

Offline K-2SO

  • Killer Droid Extraordinaire
  • Administrator
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 1279
  • Congratulations! You are being rescued.
Re: [Solved] Neopixel no light up
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2023, 06:03:39 AM »
Battery is a 18650 3600mAh

I would verify that this is a 15A battery, because the spec you mentioned doesn’t sound like one.



I find your arguments vague and unconvincing.

Quiet! *Slap* And there’s a fresh one if you mouth off again.

Offline seelenkrieger

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Um...Hello?
Re: [Solved] Neopixel no light up
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2023, 06:25:08 AM »
Battery is a 18650 3600mAh

I would verify that this is a 15A battery, because the spec you mentioned doesn’t sound like one.

couldn't verrify any more, cause removed from Amazon. But I'm quite shure it was a High Drain.
But in my test scenario with only 16 low power LED's (only Hilt connector, Blade detached) also a normal battery should be able to power this.
« Last Edit: February 23, 2023, 07:51:43 AM by seelenkrieger »

Offline erv

  • Plecter Labs Inc. "Keeper of the Buttered Toast"
  • Manufacturer
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 4920
  • Formerly known as Irvin PLECTER
    • Plecter Labs - Props Electronics
Re: [Solved] Neopixel no light up
« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2023, 08:07:57 AM »
surely (indeed)

check also your strippower settings if you're using the power MOS L1-L4 to power your blade. OVerall, check your blade is getting power and data

Offline seelenkrieger

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Um...Hello?
Re: [Solved] Neopixel no light up
« Reply #6 on: February 23, 2023, 08:32:33 AM »
surely (indeed)

check also your strippower settings if you're using the power MOS L1-L4 to power your blade. OVerall, check your blade is getting power and data

Power is the normal 4V from Battery
How do messure the data? again + or -? and what Value should be shown

Offline erv

  • Plecter Labs Inc. "Keeper of the Buttered Toast"
  • Manufacturer
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 4920
  • Formerly known as Irvin PLECTER
    • Plecter Labs - Props Electronics
Re: [Solved] Neopixel no light up
« Reply #7 on: February 23, 2023, 09:03:23 AM »
you should get some "activity" visible on a regular DMM on your data pin, on the other side of the PCB, right on the strip (probably 1.6V ish with the blade is supposed to be active).
your strip you have Vbatt

Offline seelenkrieger

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Um...Hello?
Re: [Solved] Neopixel no light up
« Reply #8 on: February 23, 2023, 09:43:52 AM »
mhh thats odd

LS -> Bat- = 0.04V so nothing
LS -> Bat+ = 4V flucting with +-10mV

Same for LS2 after activating in the config

Code: [Select]
debug=0
logport=0
vol=100
menuvol=100
menugest=0
trackgest=0
fontgest=0
beep=40
muteb=0
muteoff=0
sleep=50000
deep=0
qkignite=0
orient=0
valsnd=0
switch=2
offp=0
offd=200
onp=0
ond=20
swing_flow=360
clash_flow=300
spin_flow=400
smooth_flow=1000
lockup=300
loop=1
shuffle=2
plilh=3400,4200
omnisabers=1000
masterpower=100
ledstrip=16
auxstrip=16
tridentstrip=0
accentstrip=0
dragstrip=0
strippower=1111
ls1_timings=40,80,24,0,3,0
ls2_timings=40,80,24,1,3,0

Offline erv

  • Plecter Labs Inc. "Keeper of the Buttered Toast"
  • Manufacturer
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 4920
  • Formerly known as Irvin PLECTER
    • Plecter Labs - Props Electronics
Re: [Solved] Neopixel no light up
« Reply #9 on: February 23, 2023, 09:47:42 AM »
LS most likely not reaching your strip

Offline seelenkrieger

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Um...Hello?
Re: [Solved] Neopixel no light up
« Reply #10 on: February 23, 2023, 09:50:30 AM »
I messured directly on the Board, so both board are defect?
anything else in the config than activate Neopixel with the Ledstrip and strippower?
Cause can't believe that both boards have the same fault on the board itself

Offline erv

  • Plecter Labs Inc. "Keeper of the Buttered Toast"
  • Manufacturer
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 4920
  • Formerly known as Irvin PLECTER
    • Plecter Labs - Props Electronics
Re: [Solved] Neopixel no light up
« Reply #11 on: February 23, 2023, 09:55:44 AM »
most likely not
wire a piece of pixel ledstrip on the board directly without the PCB connector. And log your board in debug mode to see if any issues are found.

Offline seelenkrieger

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Um...Hello?
Re: [Solved] Neopixel no light up
« Reply #12 on: February 25, 2023, 01:56:18 AM »
have it rewired directly do the LED. same result.

also tried the debug, but not shure what I should look for and docklight let me not copy the code.
but last line is follow

Code: [Select]
DOCKLIGHT reports: General I/O error on COM5
General error while acessing the communication port
[TANGIBLE] Tangible Voltage:828mV - Index:4<LF>




Offline seelenkrieger

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Um...Hello?
Re: [Solved] Neopixel no light up
« Reply #13 on: March 02, 2023, 09:32:06 PM »
After downloading the complete sd files from plecterlabs and using the preconfigt neopixel settings, its finaly working. So there was something wrong in my settings.

 

retrousse