fiduciary

Author Topic: Shoto Saber With Only a DFPlayer  (Read 1647 times)

Offline BipeFlyer

• Padawan Learner
  • Taking my first steps into a larger world.
Shoto Saber With Only a DFPlayer
« on: March 25, 2019, 10:55:10 PM »

I'm pretty new to saber building, so I missed out on the early years.  This is my attempt to make something a little more "old school".

I was designing a breakout for the DFPlayer Mini when it occurred to me that I might be able to make a saber board with just a DFPlayer and a couple of components.  The inputs are already debounced, so all I had to do was add a few resistors and create a little longer signal for the clash sensor using a mosfet - mostly because that's what I had on hand.

I used a white LED with some poker chips/tiddlywinks to change colours.  The LED is running of the speaker output with a 2.7 Ohm resistor.  It may be pushing the on board amp a little and isn't super bright, so it could benefit from a separate circuit.  I played with the sound font to make the LED flicker more and ramp up and down a bit. 

The most complicated part is actually the power/activation switch.  The switch slides in a housing, making contact with a momentary switch while the power is applied.  When turning it off, it contacts another momentary switch before the power is turned off.

It's not the fanciest, but it's cheap and it actually works.

I can share the files if anyone is interested.

Offline jbkuma

• Mining Colony Members
  • Master Force User
  • Pixels, everywhere.
    • Mad Science Workshoppe
Re: Shoto Saber With Only a DFPlayer
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2019, 05:52:24 AM »
Nice! I've done similar in the past.  You can use the speaker signal with a transistor to drive the LED from the battery. (the old hasbro trick) you could also use a clash sensor to trigger a flash via a transistor.

Offline JakeSoft

• Experienced Force User
  • The Arduino Jedi
    • Universal Saber Library
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2019, 06:44:05 PM »