fiduciary

Author Topic: Can't connect to RICE  (Read 1158 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Synbios16

  • Padawan Learner
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Saber newbie
    • Flickr
Can't connect to RICE
« on: March 16, 2021, 08:21:08 PM »
New to this kind of saber. Have CFX board in SaberTrio Saber, connected to Windows 7 laptop via USB.
Installed Rice 10.005I.
Installed all drivers in adafruit_drivers_2.4.0.0.

I can't get RICE to recognize the saber's plugged in. I click "port list" and nothing happens.

What should be the order of operations or what are "obvious" things I probably missed?
« Last Edit: March 16, 2021, 08:26:36 PM by Synbios16 »








Offline rpg007

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Um...Hello?
Re: Can't connect to RICE
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2021, 09:04:33 PM »
Just joined the group and see this is from a while ago. Check the USB cable you are using -- some simply do not work to communicate back and forth between the computer and the board.

Offline nunya

  • No Force
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • nothing personal
Re: Can't connect to RICE
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2021, 09:53:55 AM »
New to this kind of saber. Have CFX board in SaberTrio Saber, connected to Windows 7 laptop via USB.
Installed Rice 10.005I.
Installed all drivers in adafruit_drivers_2.4.0.0.

I can't get RICE to recognize the saber's plugged in. I click "port list" and nothing happens.

What should be the order of operations or what are "obvious" things I probably missed?
I am having my own lighting/power challenges at the moment but was able to get RICE working via RICE port in the hilt via TCSS purchased USB to 3.5mm R.I.C.E.™ cable but only to my windows 10 PC with stated drivers and some PC configuration.


Offline QUI-GON JINN

  • Also known as Jay-gon Jinn!
  • JEDI/ALLIANCE Master MODERATOR
  • Master Force User
  • **
  • Posts: 8444
  • Your focus determines your reality
Re: Can't connect to RICE
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2021, 02:03:48 PM »
One other thing to check is to make sure you have the wires on your RICE port correct...I recently built a saber and had the TX and rX wires reversed...this after wiring over 50 of those ports over the years.


Offline K-2SO

  • Killer Droid Extraordinaire
  • Administrator
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 1173
  • Congratulations! You are being rescued.
Re: Can't connect to RICE
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2021, 03:07:49 PM »
They may be using a CFX, in shich case, the port is in the board, The CFX needs to be “on” for RICE to read it.




I find your arguments vague and unconvincing.

Quiet! *Slap* And there’s a fresh one if you mouth off again.

Offline QUI-GON JINN

  • Also known as Jay-gon Jinn!
  • JEDI/ALLIANCE Master MODERATOR
  • Master Force User
  • **
  • Posts: 8444
  • Your focus determines your reality
Re: Can't connect to RICE
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2021, 08:07:04 PM »
They may be using a CFX, in shich case, the port is in the board, The CFX needs to be “on” for RICE to read it.
D'oh...I'd know that if i ever got around to installing the two I have.  :cheesy:


Offline K-2SO

  • Killer Droid Extraordinaire
  • Administrator
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 1173
  • Congratulations! You are being rescued.
Re: Can't connect to RICE
« Reply #6 on: August 07, 2021, 06:55:07 PM »
They may be using a CFX, in shich case, the port is in the board, The CFX needs to be “on” for RICE to read it.
D'oh...I'd know that if i ever got around to installing the two I have.  :cheesy:

Still haven’t fully recovered from that “stomach ache” on Naboo, huh??  :cheesy:




I find your arguments vague and unconvincing.

Quiet! *Slap* And there’s a fresh one if you mouth off again.

Offline erv

  • Plecter Labs Inc. "Keeper of the Buttered Toast"
  • Manufacturer
  • Master Force User
  • *
  • Posts: 4824
  • Formerly known as Irvin PLECTER
    • Plecter Labs - Props Electronics
Re: Can't connect to RICE
« Reply #7 on: September 21, 2021, 04:48:34 AM »
I'm sorry I missed a lot of notifications from the forum. Check your USB cable is a "full one" not just a charging one

also, if it's a driver issue, check if the USB peripheral is popping up in the device list of your device manager and produces the "ding dong" sound when plugged in (board already powered).