fiduciary

Author Topic: "ForceSync" mobile app for Plecter RICE and Proffieboard sound boards  (Read 8978 times)

Offline ShtokyD

• Board Moderator
  • Force User
  • whatever
    • My facebook page
ForceSync saber App
- a single mobile app to control all Plecter RICE and Proffieboard (Open Source) saber sound boards via bluetooth

A short story about the “ForceSync” app:
I got this idea about 5 years ago — what if we had 1 smartphone app, that we could use for ALL custom sabers we have with all kinds of sound boards and electronics inside to remotely control it and adjust settings. And I really wanted it to be free for all so everybody could enjoy this awesome experience! At that time there already was an app by Electrum Sabercrafts that only worked with their own saber sound board and Android app for Crystal Shard board by Plecter Labs, but nothing else for other top tier boards like CF. So I started drawing the app interface design myself completely from scratch and mocking up the buttons layouts and stuff (for those who don’t know — my professional field is product design, so I was very comfortable in doing graphic and interface design), also asking questions to Erv Plecter about serial commands that control CF, Prizm and Crystal Shard sound boards (these were the only boards at that time that allowed bluetooth control via their UART RICE serial interface). So I researched all that, created a huge list of all those commands taken from RICE programs for PC and started to look for a developer who could code all this together into a real working app. That part took a while, because you can’t just find a good app developer who won’t ask $10000s for his work. Also he must be easy to communicate with and understand my design wishes and specifics. So I started with one of my friends who is a web developer, we created something resembling the smartphone app, but had to stop working on it because of his own career. Then I found another developer who eventually made a h