fiduciary

Author Topic: A newbie who needs some term "definitions"  (Read 443 times)

Offline PoliteNYC

• No Force
  • Where am I?
A newbie who needs some term "definitions"
« on: December 12, 2020, 12:39:05 PM »
Hi erry'body!

I am VERY new to the "Star Wars/lightsaber" community and I have seen postings using words and lingo that are foreign to me.  :cry: Can someone please explain:

"blade plug"
"covertec wheel"
"empty hilts"
"full shroud"
"coupler" - I think this is something that turns two separate sabers into a staff?
"mystery saber"
and finally..
"burrito"   :cheesy:

THANKS!!!!
Brooklyn NYC in da house!!!

Offline COUNT DOOKU

• Manufacturer VIP
  • Master Force User
  • The Count formerly known as Sollus Vir
    • Calvary Custom Sabers
Re: A newbie who needs some term "definitions"
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2020, 01:25:35 PM »
Hey there,

As you read around here, you'll be come more familiar. To help you get started though...

Blade Plug: What you put in the Bladeholder to keep you or your friends from blinding themselves from the bright LED when the blade is not in the saber.

Covertec Wheel. The round button that you put on your saber so it fits into the covertec clip.

Empy Hilts: Ones that don't have electronics in them. Or ones that have no soul  :lipsrsealed:.

Full Shroud: Not sure where you read that. Usually a shroud is a fancy word for what we used to call a "Sleeve". Basically any metalwork cut and fitted over the base hilt.

Coupler: You right. They are usually threaded on both ends.

Mystery Saber: No idea. I do know that some makers use creative names so as not to peeve the big mouse.

Burrito: Fun Fact. According to FX Search, this is the only place where this word is used. Quite the travesty considering how delicious these are. I would go to the person who used that term, as he/she is certainly in the minority.  :grin: